This article was co-authored by Jason Garvin and by wikiHow staff writer, Eric McClure. Jason Garvin is a Games & Retail Expert based in Broomfield, Colorado. He is the Chief Operating Officer of Total Escape Games, a gaming business that carries a broad collection of role-playing games, board games, paints, and collectible card games including Magic the Gathering singles. Total Escape Games hosts events and interactive gaming opportunities, and their community is incredibly welcoming to new players and hobbyists. Jason has over 7 years of retail experience. In addition to his role at Total Escape Games, Jason serves as the President of JTJ Holdings, Inc., where he focuses on mentoring emerging entrepreneurs and small businesses within the tabletop gaming industry to foster growth and innovation. Beyond his formal roles, Jason is also an active participant in the tech community with personal projects such as developing and maintaining his own website, contributing to his blog, and completing UI/UX projects. He received a BS in Psychology from Colorado State University.
This article has been fact-checked, ensuring the accuracy of any cited facts and confirming the authority of its sources.
This article has been viewed 11,818 times.
Summoning Sickness is one of the rare rules in Magic: The Gathering that isn’t included on any card. Basically, the rule says any creature that comes onto the battlefield cannot attack or tap on the turn it enters the battlefield (so long as it doesn’t have Haste). We’ll break down how the rule works and answer all of the niche interactions and rule questions you might have.
Summoning Sickness 101
Summoning Sickness is a rule in Magic: The Gathering that says creatures can’t attack or tap on the turn they’re played. In other words, a creature has to be under your continuous control for a full turn before you can use it to its fullest ability. Notably, Summoning Sickness only impacts creatures.[1]
Steps
Expert Q&A
Tips
-
Oddly enough, creatures with Summoning Sickness can crew vehicles. This is because the Crew says, “Tap any number of creatures you control…” So, it’s you tapping the creature, not the creature tapping itself.[10]Thanks
Expert Interview
Thanks for reading our article! If you’d like to learn more about magic the gathering, check out our in-depth interview with Jason Garvin.
References
- ↑ Jason Garvin. Games & Retail Expert. Expert Interview
- ↑ Jason Garvin. Games & Retail Expert. Expert Interview
- ↑ https://media.wizards.com/images/magic/tcg/resources/rules/MagicCompRules_21031101.pdf
- ↑ https://media.wizards.com/images/magic/tcg/resources/rules/MagicCompRules_21031101.pdf
- ↑ https://media.wizards.com/images/magic/tcg/resources/rules/MagicCompRules_21031101.pdf
- ↑ https://draftsim.com/do-artifacts-have-summoning-sickness/
- ↑ https://media.wizards.com/images/magic/tcg/resources/rules/MagicCompRules_21031101.pdf
- ↑ Jason Garvin. Games & Retail Expert. Expert Interview
- ↑ https://draftsim.com/do-artifacts-have-summoning-sickness/








